Its foundation was due to Cardinal Prince D. Henrique, the construction started in 1551 and the solemn inauguration took place on November 1, 1559. From this period stand out the cloister the refectory and the washbasin. Additions were made in the 17th and 18th centuries: the Hall of the Solemn Acts, with its Baroque façade, the Classrooms, with chairs of exotic angelim wood, ashlars of narrative tiles from 1744-49 and the former library with frescoes paintings on the ceiling, from the 18th century.
Teaching was assigned to the Jesuits, reason why following their expulsion in 1759, the University was closed. Great culture figures of the time like Luís de Molina, Sebastião Barradas and Luís António Verney taught here.
The current University was created in 1979.
Espírito Santo Church
It was built in the 16th century in Mannerist style, with plan tipically Jesuit. The frontage consists of a portico of seven round arches and on the back stand the typical dwarf towers, invisible from the main facade.
The church has a unique nave of Latin cross plan, with chapels enhanced with gilded carving. The vestry displays a vault lined with frescoes, depicting iconographic scenes, related to the history of the Society of Jesus (Jesuits) (16th Century).
Address: Largo dos Colegiais, 2, Apartado 94, 7000-849 Évora, Portugal
Phone: +351 266 740 800
Fax: +351 266 740 806
- Monday to Saturday from 09:00 a.m. to 08:00 p.m.,
- Closed on Sunday and Holidays.
- 3,00 €,
- Children until 12 years old – Free.